Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Lune Industrial Estate #8: The Boatman

This week's entry in the industrial estate series focuses on the other side of the road from the factory buildings, where the original quay itself once stood, until the increasing silt prevented ships from sailing up the Lune. The city's port is now located out at Glasson Dock, where there are some boats in a better condition than this, and a lot more in a worse one.

Not much more to say. Here, have some Levellers.

If I could choose the life I please,
Then I would be a boatman.
On the canals and the rivers free,
No hasty words are spoken.
My only law the river breeze,
That takes me to the open seas.
If I could choose the life I please,
Then I would be a boatman.

If I could choose the life I please,
Then I would be a rover.
And if the road was not for me,
Then I would choose another.
Cross mountains and valleys deep,
Where I would take these weary feet.
If I could choose the life I please,
Then I would be a rover.

But these things they're so hard for me,
I cannot choose my own destiny.
And all the things that I want to see,
Are so unclean.

Well I wish I could choose the life I please,
I am not a free man.
Others rule my destiny,
But my will is never broken.
I know someday I will be,
Everything that I dreamed I'd be.
And when I live the life I please,
Then I will be a freeman.

I know someday I will be,
Everything that I dreamed I'd be.
And when I live the life I please,
Then I will be a freeman.

And when I live the life I please,
Then I will be a freeman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.