this luminous life.

By Laura

God, That's Good!

Sweeney Todd Soundtrack.

Picture is some sort of indoor climbing structure for kids.
And yes, that is a Johnny Rockets in the background.

I saw an awesome movie tonight :)
Had been wanting to see it for months...

I couldn't see it when it opened because I need to see it captioned. So I finally saw it captioned... here is a vague shot of the rear view window/mirror thing I used... More about Rear Window Captioning here....

I don't particularly like the attention I get from having one of these things at the theater (people stare at the strange object I place in my cupholder) but I'm not going to avoid seeing a movie I highly anticipated. AND I'm not going to see it without captions because I've discovered a lot of good movies have been ruined for me since I saw them without captions, had no idea what was going on, and hated them. I prefer open captions, although I've only seen it used it theaters once. I think it's BULLSHIT that "open captioning has been little-used due to the fear that it was too intrusive and noticeable to hearing viewers." Or when my own friends dislike turning them on because it's distracting. Too distracting? Well screw you, how about if you never knew what what the hell was going on? I've personally been upset when my own friends have denied putting captions on for me at film screenings. Usually we have 16mm film, which makes sense-- no captions available anyway. But when there is a DVD, put the goddamn subtitles on. Have some consideration!! Same thing goes for when deciding what movie to watch one night. If it's a poor VHS copy with no captions, or a DVD with no subtitles, do NOT expect me to want to participate in movie night. Ever. And don't keep asking why I'm not watching movies with you. You KNOW why. (This isn't aimed at anyone on blip.) Bah. I'm just tired of being unable to watch or understand movies. Frustration also stems from having a hard time finding specific movies at the library and stuff.

When I arrived home, I found out the puzzle I had been working on was destroyed. I blame the cat. Spent the rest of the night fixing and finishing it... with some nice music and both animals keeping me company... dog on bed. I don't blip her enough. More dog on bed :)

[A year ago today... high school cheerleaders.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.