Get Back to Me

By GetBacktoMe

Rocking all Over the World

In 2005, I visited relatives in Kenya and we stayed a while on the Indian Ocean coast at Watamu. I picked this lump of volcanic rock up on the beach.

It has the most wonderful examples of lava flowing and air bubbles, and the base has a convoluted look of the surface it must have hardened onto.

I'm not sure if it was formed under the sea or on land or where it originated from. But as it was one year on from the devistating Boxing Day tsunami, it has become known as 'The Tsunami Rock'

It is very light in weight so came home in my suitcase. It is actually very 3 dimentional ( difficult to capture) so lives on the window sill and from one angle it looks very like a spaniel, from another more like a poodle.

It's amongst my most prized possessions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.