just allan

By allan

Dawn Doon the Beach

Sunrise over Doon Hill from Belhaven Beach, East Lothian. I got out for an hour at about 8AM beacuse it was a beautiful morning and I didn't think I'd get out again. The top of the sand and the saltmarsh were frozen hard and white, the sand lower down was shining in the morning light. Gorgeous. More pics on Flickr.

In fact we did get out later, Malcolm took his bike to badminton at the swimming pool and we met him there with the 4-wheeler. Katie on the front, me in the middle, Gordon behind and the trailer out back full of shopping. It worked a treat but we forgot to go to the vet for cat wormer since Gordon was looking forward to zooming home down the hill. The cat gave Malcolm a really nasty swipe with 4 sharp claws this morning which tends to mean she's riddled with worms so we'll have to keep out of her way until she's treated.

Duncan enjoyed his cycling but he was a bit knackered, so he asked me to set his bike up on my turbo trainer. He sat there watching YouTube videos on the iPad for about half an hour - good on him.

Successful car-free day. We'll see how it goes when the wind's howling and the rain's pouring!

Edit: I meant to note that this is the first time I used my tripod, which I found for £15 in a charity shop in Edinburgh. Thanks Red and Rojo for the borrow of yours previously - now I can attempt all sorts of long exposure nonsense. Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.