Plus ça change...

By SooB

Blown by the wind

Very very windy today. Last night I lay most of the night waiting for the chimney to blow into the house - and wishing I'd taken the windchimes in the garden down... No damage when we checked everything this morning - so it was a day of action for me. I had a long list of emails and errands to get through and managed them all bar one. (Must have a mini rant about our local Hertz rental place which has a van parked outside proudly boasting of the 29 Euros a day rental... except when you ask it turns out that with taxes and compulsory insurance it's actually 80 euros a day.)

Our house sale has been brought forward a bit so we're now at panic stations trying to figure out how to juggle everything - with no house to move to we need to find somewhere to keep our furniture and stuff until we can move properly. I really hope it's soon - even if just to get the kids in a proper school rather than my slightly (ok, very) inconsistent home school. And to give me a break too: marking Katherine's maths while cooking tonight's and tomorrow night's dinner and some soup for tomorrow lunch is not my idea of fun any more!

(She got them all right, and nothing was burnt - in case you were wondering.)

Today's shot is my entry for the 2011challenge macro week. It's a grass seed head in case that wasn't clear. On such a windy day an outdoor macro was always going to be foolish, but I like to think that rather than just being a bit blurry, this gives a sense of the effect of the elements on the micro-environment.... (no, you're right, it's just blurry).

Some backblips for those with a yearning for mountains:

Monday: Big snowy mountain
Tuesday: Bunch of big snowy mountains
Wednesday: Ski lifts (on backdrop of medium sized snowy mountains)
Thursday: Nothing to see here, move along please

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.