Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

My Birthday Cake

Yes today is my real birthday and a major one at that. I have always wanted to make a snow angel on top of a cake...

Great January Saturday everyone...

Enlarge


Caution Tech Stuff:

One must have fun on their birthday and this was. Stopped into my local cake shop and found this plain white cake in the case. Popped off a couple of shots and went home. On my front lawn I got down into the snow and made myself a snow angel. I actually went too deep and hit grass so I had to cover that up in Photoshop. I took a couple of pictures of my snow angel and with my coat and hat still on went to my basement to shoot myself. I placed the camera on the floor shooting up to get the look angle right.

So now we have our cake shot to which we add the snow angel layer. Using a mask we remove most of the outer snow and re-size it to fit. Next I knock myself out of my background using another mask. I add myself as a 3rd layer on top of the snow angel. I distort my size so I fit into the outdoor snow angel.

Now comes the fun part. After covering up some grass using the stamp tool I started adding adjustment layers to the snow angel and to the cake so that their color and brightness match. It now looks like I did make my snow angel in the frosting. Add my little birthday icon and we're done.


Wish I could give you all a slice as I do know how to make more cakes in Photoshop. Enjoy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.