Starry Eyed Surprise

By bellerock

Meet Bill and his Champion Scots Dumpy.

Claire's choice of activity for this weekend, took us to the Scottish National Poultry Show in Lanark. It took around 2 hours to get there, but I'm pleased to say that it was worth it.

The show was held in the Market building and was filled with nearly 3000 exhibits of every breed of chicken, duck, goose and turkey imaginable.

A chicken is not just a chicken to the members of the various poultry clubs around the country. I watched while breeders preened, fed, and cooed over their feathered charges. The Judges took their role very seriously, examining every bird and comparing it to the breed standards.

I met Bill on my way out of the show. I was having one last look along a row of cages near the exit when I spotted this beautiful, black shiny cockerel.

I must have lingered a while at the cage, as a voice beside me asked what I thought of the bird. I turned round to see an kind, smiling face, clearly very enthusiastic about this particular one.
"He's a beauty'" I replied.
"Aye and he's my one." said Bill.
I asked if I could take a photo of the bird out of it's cage and Bill was only too happy to oblige. He was very shy about having his photo taken, but I think you can clearly see on his face the pride and joy of the occasion as his bird had won First Prize Champion Scots Dumpy, and 2 special prizes and rosettes.

We had a lovely chat, discussing the iridescent shine on the feathers, the personality of Scots Dumpys and joy of keeping chickens. Finally, Bill gave me his card and we parted company.

I'm going to send him the photos I took of him and his Champion, and a letter to say how much I enjoyed meeting him. I hope he's there at the next Poultry Show later on this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.