A SP in a self made snow cave

I am quite proud about my achievement. It did not snow today so I had time to make a snow cave. I wanted to do it with the stuff which we have when we are with Mrs Akkuv on mountains. It was important to use safety cloth and sleeping pad for transporting the snow from the cave. You see here my woolen mitten as sharp. I never use gloves which separate all fingers from each other -I have two pairs of gloves on each other when working the outer gloves ae of leather or fur. You see also my blue safety shovel which we always have with us when we are on mountains.
It took only 1.5 hours to make a cave big enough to sleep in it. Important is that the higher side of the entrance which is in contact of outside air is on lower level than the floor of the cave so that the coldness of outside air does not flow in. And important is to make a hole to the ceiling that you get oxygenon.
It was only too warm today, only -6 degrees. It was warmer inside in the cave, but
I hope that next weekend it were at least -15 so that I could feel the difference. In such a cave the air is near zero Celsius. As you can see, sun reflects through snow from some places.
Mrs Akkuv did not want to participate to my experiment, she went to ski:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.