Ferinus vis quod ignarus

By leecarson

One Potato, Two Potato...

Anyone fancy a little wander down memory lane with me?

This is an original LP (ask your parents) called Bang On A Drum containing songs from the BBC children's programmes Play School and Play Away.

Who can forget such treasures as "Brush, Brush, Brush" (a teeth-cleaning anthem in my house), Build It Up (Derek Griffiths, never knowingly under-acting) and the aforementioned potato song, a tribute to numerically literate vegetable farmers everywhere.

Brian Cant, Johnny Ball, Chloe Ashcroft and the rest with Jonathan Cohen and co. providing the musical accompaniment. Is there a modern equivalent to this? Kids TV is very sophisticated, but, where are the songs?

Anyway, this will be my Weekend Blip-Callenge Entry on the theme of Bang. I liked my picture from Friday but I can't get over the feeling that balloons actually "pop".

Finally you don't HAVE to try to name all the toys on the cover, but you'll feel better for doing so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.