Dave's Views

By davethespoon

Family Heirlooms

Fiona has arrived back home after settling her mother into the new house (see past few blips). She brought back a few things that didn't fit into the bungalow including these glasses.

They have special family significance as they were purchased over 50 years ago when Fiona's parents were living in Germany. They are, despite advertising a well know Danish brewery, very nice glasses. The walls of the glass is very thin and has a pure bell like ring when tapped. It is a pleasure to drink from them.

So to christen their arrival in Stroud I decided to have a glass of my favorite local brew. Stroud Brewery is a successful micro brewery that uses community funding rather than conventional banking to raise capital. I loaned money to the brewery when it started a few years back and again now as it's expanding to increase it's capacity. My favourite bitter at present is Tom Long named after the legendary highwayman, I've blipped about Tom Longs Post a few weeks ago. The other bottle here is Budding named for the local man who invented the lawn mower (I'll go to the local museum and blip that soon as it's a fascinating tale).

I also developed the Stroud Brewery website, so what with that and my investments in the company I'd like to think that the brewery and the beer it brews might one day be viewed by us as a different kind of family heirloom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.