the same, a little later

As Nicky was taking the wingpiglet out for a rare weekend meeting with his various infant pals I had been thinking that I could have used the time to head out for a rare nice long daylight trundle, enjoying the smooth clickiness of a new chain and cassette as I went. Unfortunately, though the morning's last-ditch spanner-hunt turned out to be successful and I eventually found enough bits in my toolbox to make some of the old chain into a chainwhip, the lockring tool I'd borrowed (and which I hopefully haven't buggered) failed to bite the lockring when I eventually got the chainwhip able to take the strain. All the nearest tested bicycle shops seem to be shut on Sunday so it'll be a way-in or lunchtime job tomorrow and four or five quid to get the old one removed. Hopefully the borrowed tool hasn't been buggered as it would make it more difficult to fit the replacement cassette, though tightening should be far easier than loosening as one hand won't be used up in restraining the chainwhip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.