On My Doorstep

By bwhere

Dreaming the Future

A number of years ago I started recording my dreams. Every day I noted down what I had dreamt the night before: the symbolism, the images, the sensations and the feelings. Sometimes I just couldn't recall a dream but as the process went on it became easier.

After I had accumulated enough daily details I reviewed what I had recorded. It became clear to me that in some cases a dream foreshadowed what was going to happen in the future.

There is one instance that is illustrated by the image above. I noted down the problems that I had with seeing something and the nature of the symbol I was seeing. In the image you can see, picked out in red, the shape of a keyhole. A few days afterwards whilst on holiday in France I was amazed to come across the very symbol that my dream had revealed to me. It was in the form of of a cross set in the pavement of an area outside a church we were visiting by chance. Not only that, the way in which the cross was laid out, incorporating cobble stones, matched the veiled way I had described it in my dream.

It was clear to me that it wasn't possible at the time of dreaming and recording to deduce which parts of a dream foretold the future. It was only in hindsight that this became clear. So I was never tempted to make use of this as an ability. I saw it as something that just happened, to everyone. It is little known because very few people remember their dreams let alone record them.

These days I no longer record my dreams. In fact I rarely remember them. But I am still in awe at the discovery I made. We dream about the future!

Of course, I do not expect you to agree with my conclusion here or even believe what I have written. There could be other explanations or I could be making it all up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.