Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Old speckled hen

No, not the beer, but the last of our chickens -and a bit of a desperation blip on another grey dreary day. She's actually a pedigree millefeuille Dutch bantam, bought a few years ago at our local Autumn Show, which always has a tremendous variety of chickens and wildfowl for sale.

She's quite a cutie, follows us round the garden and likes having her back stroked. Indeed, I had trouble taking a photograph because she kept getting too close to the lens! The only downside is that she's not a very good layer - definitely more of a pet than an economic proposition!

Today's been fairly dull - catching up with administration, paying bills and generally tidying round. The dogs and I went on our usual walk, but there was nothing much to see or photograph, which was lucky as I forgot to put the memory card back in my camera!

We have decided to decorate our hall, and I think I'll go and fetch some paint tomorrow. All this grey dreariness is making me yearn for fresh vibrant colour - and I might even get to display some of my photographs :)

Off now to cook a cottage pie for tea, but I'll be back later to look at all your journals!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.