Gideon Miller

By gideonmiller

Naughty Frisset

Today we headed towards Glacier Pers, but instead of skinning up to the usual spot, headed across the bowl and up to the sunny side, to rest under the impressive cliffs that would eventually lead to the Aiguille Rousse (I think). The frisset higher up was a little stiff in places and got the better of me - naughty frisset - but it softened up below and here the skiing was tres bien.

From the Grand Torsai we were expecting a horrible gnarly descent over icy bumps to the Pont St Charles, but the snow here was actually pretty good, like souffle dure, so it was a fairly pleasant get out.

On the road we stopped to look at the scene of the massive avalanche a few weeks ago. Apparently this slope is known locally as 'Oh My', and I can see why.

On a worrying note, my ski jacket is falling apart and I am holding it together with super glue. Doubt it will last much longer though.

The picture is of the short walk up to the Grand Torsai, with the Aiguille Pers in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.