The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Goosey Goosey Gander

Rain stopped play today. I had an errand to run, taking an old broken PC and an amassed collection of cardboard off to a local recycling centre. It wasn't the nearest, as my plan had been to go on from there for walking/blipping purposes.

I'm all in favour of recycling, and in fact remember advocating all kinds of ecological ideas at coffee breaks at work at the BBC back in the late seventies, but I do wonder if there's some tokenism at work. I felt good about tipping my container of cardboard into the huge skip where it almost disappeared amongst all the rest, but as the rain had settled in by then I had little choice but to return home - a round trip of twenty miles or so. Didn't the petrol I burned outweigh the value of the cardboard and odds and ends I sacrificed to the gods of Green Values?

All was not lost, though, as I pulled up at the duck pond at Rowde Field Farm, near Roundway, on the outskirts of Devizes, to photograph the ducks and geese.

Lens: Sigma 70-300mm

Goosey goosey gander,
Whither shall I wander?
Upstairs and downstairs
And in my lady's chamber.
There I met an old man
Who wouldn't say his prayers,
So I took him by his left leg
And threw him down the stairs.


Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Siouxsie And The Banshees - Spellbound (recorded March-April 1981, London)
"And don't forget
When your elders forget
To say their prayers
Take 'em by the legs
And throw up down the stairs"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.