phseven

By phseven

very, very... orange and blue

Firstly, thanks for all those warm welcomes yesterday!

I learned photography as a student on 35mm B&W which I processed and printed in a makeshift darkroom in my parents' cellar. Having come back to photography after too many years, the combined challenge for me is learning both colour (hence these two pics) and digital processing.

Today I went out as the sun was already below the horizon and so for the first time shot in RAW, intending to mess about with the white-balance and exposure comp afterwards. As it was, I found this tree of near-white berries (no idea what kind of tree - maybe Sollergirl can help me out there?) right next to a sodium streetlight which produced a great orange colour. I shot almost vertical to contrast with the blue of the twilight sky. No computer tweakery necessary!

As always I am looking for feedback - I started this journal to learn so all of your comments are gratefully accepted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.