feverandlight

By feverandlight

The New Face of the Homeless

Outside my local grocery store today I spotted two homeless men with their pup. I have been watching the trends of homelessness change over the past year here in Portland, Oregon. There are a lot of people who, upon first glance, don't look homeless or helpless or impoverished in any way- at least through my paradigm.
Lately I have been challenging myself to (when safe) give to the homeless and talk to the homeless to find out their story- regardless of if I interpret them to be in need or not.
Due to the continuing stuggle of the American economy, it is both intriguing and heart wrenching to see people who were once moderately well off end up on the streets because they can't afford their rent. I am challenging myself to use empathy and wisdom when interacting with those in need, rather than judgement.
This pup is the pet of two local men who have lost their jobs as a server and sous chef at local restaraunts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.