Trisharooni

By trisharooni

Australia Day

Australia Day used to be a very low key affair, and I think I preferred it that way.
Nowadays there's a great deal of flag waving and a section of the community seems to have hijacked it to promote some pretty offensive opinions.

Australians may not have invented gunpowder or the printing press, but an Australian is responsible for the hills hoist (to that we could add zinc cream, the lamington and the stump jump plough, to name but a few).
Most Australians can't wait to dig them up and take them to the tip, but I love mine, a very old and large one. Unfortunately there are only two at home now, so it's not used to its full potential, but it could hold washing for a family of five, no trouble.
I was once advised by a friend to screen it with lattice and cover it with a plant, but I'm very happy for it to be proudly exposed.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.