Baklava

My last morning of a fortnight or so without paid work, so I made baklava with walnuts that a friend gave us from her father's garden. This is as it was after it came out of the oven and I'd poured syrup over it and sprinkled it with more ground walnuts. This one is an experiment as I've added some raisins to the nuts.

At the end of the morning some more work arrived for me, so the fun's over now!

Fountain update: this morning when I went to the market I noticed that the water was on in the fountain and the pool beneath it was filling up. I'll blip it again soon, once it's properly filled.

Edit: the recipe, by request: A packet of filo pastry - in France the pastry is in large sheets which I cut in half to fit a roasting tray, making about 30 sheets altogether. Chop 250 gm walnuts into small pieces and mix with some nice plump raisins (not too dry). Melt about 150 gm butter and brush each sheet of pastry as you put it in the baking tray. When you have put half the sheets in like this add the walnut and raisin mix, then add the other sheets of pastry, brushing each one as you go. With a sharp knife cut diagonals almost through to the tin, but not quite. Bake in a hot oven (about 190 degrees) for about 25 minutes, until nicely browned. While the baklava is in the oven make a syrup with sugar and water (about 250 mls water and 150 gm sugar), pour this over the hot baklava and add some ground walnuts. Leave to cool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.