an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Tubby Toddler

Today has been a long day. Wednesday is Daddy Day in our house. A day when I dont get up at 5.30am to go to work. Instead I get up a little bit later, work from home in the morning and then the afternoon is family time.

Just before 4.45am toddler decided to wake. Toddler is very definite when she wants to get up and I was clearly too tired and too stupid to come up with any iron clad arguement to deter her from getting up.

In my hazy state I managed to get toddler dressed and made milk and tea drinks. My brain was still asleep so I opted for the easy option. So there we were in front of the telly at a time when cbeebies has not even started. I tried to get her into watching the tennis but she was having none of it. So we watched all the Charlie & Lola that our cable tv ondemand would let us.

A couple of hours later the rest of the family were up. We all breakfasted and then Wife and Baby took Toddler to nursery whilst I got on with work.

I picked up toddler just after lunch and she fell asleep on the way home, which was great as that meant I could try and get some sleep too. However on getting home I then did something stupid. I decided I would transfer toddler from the buggy to her bed. This is never advisable, but she was out of it and needed a proper comfy sleep, and the lack of sleep was making me overconfident.

To be fair I did well. I got her out of the buggy, deshoed, decoated and decardiganed and got her up to her room without a whisper. I then went to lay her onto the bed only for the reverse sleepy doll effect to happen.

To explain the reverse sleepy doll effect is based on one of those toy dolls that shuts its eyes when you lay it down only with the opposite thing happening. Both our children suffer from this talent / condition, holding an incredible ability to wake as soon as they are flat lying down. This condition is also known as the unhelpful spirit level.

Realising that woken Toddler means she will now not go back to sleep till bedtime, in turn meaning I will not get any sleep till bedtime I cracked and let out a frustrated arrrrrggggghhhhhh!
This frustrated arrrrrggggghhhhhh then woke baby and wife in the next room who were having a quiet doze.

With my overconfidence now replaced by guilt, stupidity and stubborness I decided I would then take both little ones out in the buggy for the rest of the day. Thankfully Wife is not stupid like me and so she sent me to bed whilst she took them to the park.

As expected Toddler did not go back to sleep, whilst I did get an hour (Thanks Wife). Toddler still had more energy than me though and spent the rest of the evening running around with a blue tub on her head before climbing into it and asking to be carried about like shopping.

Early night tonight me thinks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.