Framer's Intent...

By Scrybe

Thinking About Photography

Another window shot. Sorry, I'm really tired today. Been a long few days. Also, I've been thinking about photography.

In an early blip I said you don't photograph of, you photograph from. I think it even more so now. I can't help wondering if this can be considered consistent with documentary photography, and how this statement affects the descriptive pursuit within photography.

I think the distinction is a fair and true one. I don't think documentary photography can describe in any other fashion than an authorial and inherently biographical or personal one. Photography isn't analytic, although Stephen Shore distinguishes it from painting along these lines (hmmm, note to self - go back to Shore and reconsider his remarks here). So where does that leave the 'documentary photographer'?

I don't think it is a completely futile pursuit - so-called documentary photographers have made, and continue to make, wonderful images and substantive collections of images. But I find that those photographers who speak most strongly to me are those who put themselves in their work in a strong way - Alex Majoli, Martin Parr, Bruce Gilden, Walker Evans, Bruce Davidson, and others.

Particularly Majoli.


Still pondering all this. Sorry for the lack of completeness, but I prefer cogency.


EDIT: I am also considering, now that I've almost managed a full month of daily blipping, changing which blips I make and trying to use this format in a more interesting way. A more, um, contained and form-as-part-of-content way. Ish. Thanks to everyone who's visited so far, and I hope you've enjoyed the images and rambles. I hope you can also find interest in the "new blipping" as soon as I figure out what that's going to be. For now, the current blip-style continues.

EDIT: Also changed my blip. Realised this one was post-midnight and probably fits better with what I wrote.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.