Bubble gum sunset

I really can't help but stop off and capture these amazing sunsets we've been having. The air is warm, the water calm and great company is around. It really has been a treat these last few days.

Our morning started with big, pink skies and then ended with the softest pinkish glow. The fog started to roll in, which made finding the horizon all the more difficult but all the more cool.

I signed up for this today. Seems like an exciting project, and I've been dying to do a little film work. You pick a theme, pay $25 and they send a disposable camera with 27 exposures to you. You then snap away, get them developed and send them off in the prepaid envelope and hope to get in the cross country exhibition. It sounds nifty and exciting to me. I can hardly wait for my camera to arrive. I chose the theme of "simplicity".

On to the boys I suppose. Their questions and stories have really been incredible lately.

A (5 years): "Mama, do dogs have eyelids?"
Me: "Yes they do."
A: "So they can close their eyes when they die?"
Me: "I suppose they can."

A: "Do bones burn, mama?"
Me: "Yes."
A: "Why did they burn Granddad instead of burying him in that place with all the signs on the grass?"
Me: "In the cemetery?"
A: "Yes."
Me: "Some people prefer to be cremated (or burned) while others prefer to be buried. It's just what they ask for before they die."

So you can see we still have a huge amount of thought and questions dedicated to the understanding of death. I'm actually really pleased that he asks these questions and keeps me on my toes.

A: "Mama!!! R peed in his bed!"
Me: "R, did you su-su in your bed?"
R (3 years): "No, it's just my warm stuff."
Me: "You mean pee?"
R: "No mama. It's my warm stuff."

Nice cover little man...not. :)

Best in large most likely. I have no idea why I don't offset the horizon...must be breaking some photography rule somewhere...

Forgot to mention the upcoming Pacific NW Blipmeet in April. Check it out on the forum.




190

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.