Poppy

By Poppy

First Thing

Such a lovely day today, even first thing this morning it looked quite promising, but you never know, it could have been sleet and gales by lunch time! But no, it's been chilly but very still and the sea is calm. The odd seal slowly cruised about the bay, the eider ducks swam round together calling to each other, a heron leisurely flapped overhead and at the waters edge a large woolly bearded collie paddled in the shallows! Ah, bliss!

I took the paper and bottles to the recycling centre and nipped down into the village for some bits and pieces and the local weekly paper. After filling my shopping bag to the point of overflowing, I realised my purse was at home! For a good job everyone knows each other round here and luckily there is still a culture of old fashioned trust, so I was able to mark it in the book and will pay next time I'm in! Getting old and forgetful . . . !

When we got home I set about tidying up the borders in the front garden. It's the first gardening I have done this year, so I limited myself to just a wee while - I usually go at it hammer and tongs and end up crippled and aching! Lots bulbs coming up and buds on the shrubs and trees. Plenty of weeds too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.