Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

File this under...

...wish it was sharper!

This is the shot that has finally convinced me to part with hard cash for a 28mm f/1.8 lens.

Noah built a huge pile of books on top of our camphor wood chest this morning...and yes...that Chronicles of War book is as heavy as it looks but he wouldn't allow me to help him. He also wouldn't let me tidy them up...his monument to eclectic literary tastes had to stay.

By the time H came home from school I'd forgotten about the books. Then I heard gales of laughter <always time to start worrying I find>. " Mummy, come and see Noah..." <always time to panic, drop what you're doing and head to wherever the little voice is coming from I find>

And what I found was Noah. Allegedly he'd wanted to climb the pile of books so big brother had helped him...hmmmmm.

So I did what any self-respecting mother would do. I rescued him from his perilously precarious perch (after I'd grabbed my camera and rattled off a couple of shots ;-). This one was so nice but not sharp enough dammit. My Sigma 17-70mm is a nice little street zoom but just doesn't cut it for indoor photography unless it's still life with tripod. I've been deciding between a couple of lenses recently but this has confirmed that the 28mm will suit the way I tend to 'see' and compose within a frame.

Perhaps when I get it I'll set this shot up again (with Bob on standby this time in case the tower topples ;-)

Thanks for all the comments and concern over the past couple of days. We've had some seriously bad family news which came as a huge bombshell. I've had a bit of a health scare too (all ok though) *and* been on a crammer course for work (Optical Coherence Tomography in case you're interested) which has a learning curve so steep it's practically vertical. My emotions and brain have been through the mincer this week so I've not been up to commenting much...many apologies. Normal service will now be resumed.

Edit: Just catching up on a few of my favourite journal and I came across this by 4 boys. I think it's just about perfect and made me smile at the the same time as it brought a tear to my eye. Enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.