Diamonds and Rust

By diamondsandrust

Photographing the sunset

This afternoon I met up with a fellow Aberystwyth photographer, who I knew well from Flickr (as "Spiritflier" - check him out, a brilliant photographer) but whom I'd never actually met before - even though it turns out he lives just down the road from me. We had a great photography related chat, he explained a few techniques, and I left with even more admiration of his skill - and desiring an iPad (first time I'd seen one "in the flesh").

When I left the sun was about to go down over the sea, so I stopped off on the beach. The conditions looked good for the fabled "green flash" (a rare event when the sun turns bright green for a couple of seconds just as it's dipping below the horizon) and I really wanted to capture this. But no luck, it didn't happen tonight. I ended up with some rather standard picture-postcard Aberystwyth-end-of-pier-at-sunset pictures - and this one, of a mother and child amongst the many people out photographing the sunset. It's not a brilliant photo, but I rather like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.