In the moment..

By MoshersMoll

Vlaai - Must be a cloggies birthday

Today was spent celebrating the 'mother-in-law's' birthday in typical Dutch fashion. Anyone who is not aware of this tradition but interested to know more should google Dutch circle parties or even 'circle of death!'

On my arrival in The Netherlands I was rather disappointed to discover the lack of birthday cake or even proper cake in general, it's all tarts and tortes here, or vlaai as the Dutchies call them, but I must say I've grown rather fond of them. The selection is endless.

This one was an exceedingly scrummy Zwitserse Roomvlaai (Swiss cream). A dense, cakey base with confectioners custard and cream, sprinkled with chocolate and nougat, decorated with whipped cream. Delicious. So apologies for a 'boring' food blip but this was the highlight of my day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.