Grandma's pictures

By FarawayGrandma

more bibs

Making bibs out of towels has become almost an addictive pursuit of mine.
When I spend time in the real world, shopping with my daughters we are always on the lookout for kitchen or hand towels that would make interesting bibs for the little ones, with things like flowers, hearts, puppies, kittens, birds, & holiday themes on them. I use old t-shirts to make collars. When the cutesy towels are unavailable, I have to resort to sewing ribbons and trims onto solid colored towels - which is what I have been playing with this week.

I have six grands, starting with my KJ who will be 16 soon. I sent her mother a bib every month waiting for her birth, and then a box just about every month for years after. I added bibs to the boxes along with the Easter dresses, Mother's Day dresses, clothes for summer, Fourth of July R/W&B, overalls with Fall colors, clothes with Halloween pumpkins, black cats & ghosties, Thanksgiving turkeys, Christmas snowflakes, snomen, bells & angels, Valentine dresses, clothes in St. Pat's green.. For a short while I was making matching outfits for 5 little girls & one grandson. And occasionally outfits to match for their dolls. ...the good ol' days!

My youngest grand is 6 already - they no longer wear dresses in border prints much less bibs any more, Grandma! So Faraway Grandma found another outlet for the bibs of many colors & themes. Thankfully, the local Pregnancy Center supports my need to make another bib, and another and another...and once in a while I get to throw in a fleece or flannel jacket, a flannel blankie or a dress of bright, cheerful colors. Life is good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.