For Comments Only

By comments

Small Towns

I was born and raised in a small coal mining town in WV...this is a replica (made by my dad) of our post office...when the town had one. The town's name is still the same, but the zip code has changed, along with a lot of things there over the years. The amount of people living here is still very small and getting smaller each year. The mines that used to thrive here are gone (although some still remain) and life marches on. My dad and his wife still live on the same piece of property I was born on almost 58 years ago (my mom and dad were married for 63 years before she died almost 6 years ago now and the coal company house was torn down about 5 years ago). One of my siblings lives right across the railroad tracks and road from him, a couple more live close by, one in VA and one in PA and me all the way across the country. But we get together as much as possible...with me doing most of the traveling, which is fair as I live farther away than everyone else.

Great memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.