Fear

Never are we more scared than when our children are hurt or ill. As I've mentioned several times recently, we keep getting sick around here. It's obviously a product of my son starting school, and it's really getting old.

At 1:30 or so this morning, my son began to cough. He coughed and coughed and coughed and coughed. I took him downstairs to the bathroom, and then he coughed until he threw up his Tylenol (for his fever) and a bunch of green. I also noticed that his eyes were filled with bits of green puss in the corners. Pink eye.

The coughing wouldn't subside, so I brought him to our bed to tell my husband I was taking him to the emergency room. Suddenly he fell fast asleep. I crawled in bed next to him listening to his deep and peaceful breathing. I was so worried but knew he needed sleep.

In the morning, it was apparent that he was incredibly sick. I found we have a Saturday morning clinic here and got him in at 9:45 a.m. The doctor was awesome prescribing an eye drop and giving ideas for more natural remedies to fight the cough.

[Just back from fixing the toilet. Mr. Curious is obviously feeling better, as he successful yanked the handle hard enough to dislodge the chain. All better now.]

After some eye drops, food, a movie and some rest, he is already doing much better.

The amusing (well maybe not so) thing about this is that my husband's family came from Arizona and Seattle, WA to stay with us. They are here to attend a big party for one of my husband's uncles. They also have a young boy, so now they are staying in a hotel, and my boys and I are missing the party. Such is life.

I'm just happy he is okay now. He's never been so sick ever before. The only time I am ever scared is when my boys are hurt or sick. They are everything in the world to me.

I do know he's looking very pretty in this. I put one of my clips in his hair to keep his bangs out of his eyes. They've gotten long and were set to be clipped this morning. I figured it could wait until another day. I added a bit of texture for interest (my own interest that is).

Time for bed. :)

I quickly have to mention that the reason my son got a double eye infection is because some brilliant parent thought it okay to send their son to school last week with the most infected eyes I have ever seen in my entire life. The school responded quickly, but my son's locker is right next to his. How can a parent, who stays home, pack her child on a bus with puss pouring out his eyes? I just don't understand. Sorry for the little rant and the longest sentence I've ever written.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.