I am rosco

By iamrosco

B.Liar and Westminster Abbey

Had to find Central Hall in Westminster today, not an area of London I know well at all. I got myself to Westminster tube station all right, then headed in the rough direction Google Maps was telling me to, but was met by lots of big buildings and no definite street address for the place. The Queen Margaret Conference Centre was just by me (oddly decked out in barriers, armed police and vans with satellite dishes upon their roofs) so I nipped in to ask for directions. The security guard standing next to the massive scanners looked a bit taken aback at my swift (and, might I add, chirpy) turn into the building, and seemed a little edgy while I enquired as to the address I was looking for. I took this attitude as a symptom of the fact that he pointed at the building next door, and that I should have figured that out. I would realise later - while watching the news - that his attitude may have had a different cause altogether. It did look strangely familiar...

So, I got myself to Central Hall to attend the SMART 2011 Social Media conference. A good day (mostly), with some great speakers (mostly), and some interesting chat (mostly not mine). A useful day out, where the focus is on social media in business, and a good start to this week's London stint.

As an intensive, all day conference, I wasn't left with much time for photos or Blipping, but I did manage a quick shot of what I think is Westminster Abbey through the windows of the entrance hall of Central Hall. More time tomorrow, so I'll head out with the camera and see what happens. I did pass BIS, maybe tomorrow I'll find DoSaC.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.