Displacement activities

By Detritus

Wandering.

I found myself with the afternoon free, so decided to go somewhere different. A walk around Whitlingham Country Park sounded appealing.

I walked Lil first and left her at home, as Whit is a nature reserve. Didn't want her battling a swan or anything - I'm 99% sure she'd behave, but not willing to take the risk.

The broad (quite close to the slightly well known Norfolk Broads) was created from an old quarry. A new quarry is alongside. I walked around the other side, alongside what I thought was the river Yare. However, notice boards tell me that bit is the "New cut", dating from the 1830's, to increase trade to the city's port. Another vital link runs on the other side, the railway line leading way out east. The information boards also highlighted the importance of rail to the economy, and described that the bridge just a little further on from here - an uninspiring structure - was the scene of 27 deaths in 1874 when the London express met a mail train heading in the opposite direction in the middle of the bridge.

I tried to get a picture of the bridge, the boats moored alongside, and a passing train, but the shrubbery, the lights of the pub and industrial units in the background, and the lack of trains on a Sunday conspired to prevent me.

I like this one though, the overloaded, and indeed sunken boat. I also have lots of ghostly long exposure swan shots, but this one reflects my afternoon river watching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.