Waiting for Jonny

By yearofhappy

Grumpy Old Men

Another fresh winter's day.
Usual load of Sunday housework chores done with iPod on for encouragement ( To this day I have yet to find a " doing the washing" anthem , it's high time one was written ! )
After a morning of me sorting the house and the girls playing , I realised that me shouting
" Are you ok up there ?" periodically, was not really hands on parenting.
A decent family afternoon was called for, met up with a friend and her kids and went up to a local woods called St Ives estate.
It's a few acres of woods with really tall trees
( check me out with the PhD in detailed horticulture ) and there are wood carvings set about the insides sporadically. I am not sure who the sculptor is but they are brilliant, there's a cobra, a dragon, a fairy, amongst others, this is one of my favourite carvings.
To be honest this is a bit of a ubiquitous St Ives photo opportunity but cool none the less .
My children are the 2nd and 4th one along
( from left) , my friend's son was the one who tried the hardest to look most like the gnome , I think he got it spot on .
Two hours of woods, the play park and then back for tea and home made chocolate cake, all that was missing was the lashings of ginger beer and it could have been an Enjd Blyton day!
Fresh air glow and feel good factor all round .
Happy Sunday .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.