Robbie's Roots

By robertfelton

Big Garden Birdwatch

An interesting hour spent in my rural Garden today to get my list.

My list for today:

Blackbird 8
Jackdaw 6
Magpie 2
Collared Dove 5
Long-tailed Tit 18
Great Tit 4
Blue Tit 6
Starling 10
Wood Pigeon 6
House Sparrow 8
Goldfinch 10
Chaffinch 3
Dunnock 4
Reed Bunting 3
Greenfinch 2
Robin 2
Song Thrush 1
Tree Sparrow 1


No Crows or Rooks during the hour but were some later in the day and the one notable absentee was Great Spotted Woodpecker. Good to see the Tree Sparrow and the Reed Buntings (2 male, 1 female). The Long-tailed Tits are now regular visitors, all arriving together to raid the 3 feed stations in unison.

Later in the day I got a nice capture of a couple of Long-tailed Tits but couldn't really blip them again. I was standing about 2 feet away from the feeding station, trying to get a decent capture of a ground feeding Blackbird further up the garden. Whilst concentrating on this I became aware of the "chatter" of Long-tailed Tits all around me. They seemed completely oblivious to my presence and started feeding right next to me, I managed to get off a few shots and the link below shows the best. In usual Long-tailed Tit fashion they were gone in a flash.

Blackbird

Long-tailed Tits

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.