D77

By D77

Out of reach

Though it's been great to spend time with Neil and Gillian in Brussels, the anxiousness of the situation in Cairo is becoming too much, and I've had to cut the visit short. With the internet and mobile networks shut down in Egypt (I hope once this is all over that the networks are held accountable for this utter travesty), the inability to communicate has been the biggest cause of concern over the last 48 hours. The mobile networks are now on again, and so it was a relief to speak to Larissa today to hear she's okay, despite her confirmation of the reports I've been following of a curfew, vigilantes protecting property and a tank roaming the streets of Maadi.

Tanks and vigilantes. In Maadi. Literally outside our flat. And I'm not there.

The plan at the moment is to get the next plane out of Brussels and go back to Cairo so much of the last 24 hours has been trying to get information about the available flights. The one due to leave today at 3pm has been delayed until 6am tomorrow due to problems at Cairo airport. It's midnight now. I'll be leaving for the airport in three and a half hours to hopefully leave for Cairo at around 6am. If the plane arrives later than 3pm, I'll have to wait in Cairo airport until 8am the next morning, due to the curfew.

Reports that people are being urged to leave Cairo if possible are quite unsettling, and I hope it doesn't come to that for now (ironic really, considering my feelings towards the place).

I don't really want to know what awaits. I just want to get back to Larissa.

Egypt. What a mess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.