1st day in the new school (again)

This is smiley Hanna in her new uniform ready to set off to her new school. She is not even 7 and it is her third school. So, she was all happy, but things changed once the bell rang and it was time for me to go home.
I am glad she came out smiling after school.

What a day to start school though. Another scorcher, 42.9 degrees recorded in Adelaide. My 5 minute walk to school seemed like a big trip though a desert. Hands and fingers swelled up in no time. It is quite extreme out there. Usually I deal with this sort of weather in an air-conditioned, freezing cold office. But this time I am at home and this modern invention is only installed in our living area. That means the bedrooms rely only on fans. That wasn't fun.

As I am typing, I spotted my neighbour across the fence hosing down his AC unit with water. It must have overheated, being on the western side of the house. Things you do in the heat, like putting wet towel on legs in bed. Works a bit. Drinking gallons of cold water. Accepting invitation by unknown neighbours for a dip in the pool and then eating their dinner. That was yesterday. Today we must go to the beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.