On My Doorstep

By bwhere

Out & About

Who am I to argue with Malc and Art Miller (see yesterday's comments)? I got out today by going to Hull!

As the culmination of Larkin 25 in Hull in 2010, a larger-than-life statue of Philip Larkin was erected in December at the Railway Station.

Today was the first time I'd seen it. I really like it, apart from it not looking like him facially on his right hand side and from the front (in my humble opinion).

I photographed this from his left hand side which is a better likeness.

Don't get me wrong. The complete statue is very striking and dynamic, just like someone rushing for a train with his coat flowing behind him.

The statue illustrates lines from The Whitsun Weddings:

That Whitsun, I was late getting away:
Not till about
One-twenty on the sunlit Saturday
Did my three-quarters-empty train pull out.


PS. I got my first proper night's sleep last night in four and half weeks! It has cost a lot in cough sweets and cough mixture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.