Doha Days

By allycrighton

Faux Tintype

OK, one for Photoshop junkies here. I intend to get a large format camera here, because I want to work with old techniques. I loved a set of cowboy pics in national geographic a couple of years back, and I think there;s a lot of scope in using old techniques. Anyway, I was researching the tintype process, and tried a photoshop technique on a shot I took at weekend, which I was very happy with. This being Blipfoto, I took this snapshot of a friend (with an impressive moustache) earlier and repeated it, Am happy with result -- within reason.
The process:
In photoshop:
Black and white layer
Blue filter (the tintype is blue light only!)
merge
Invert (create negative -- tintype is a contact negative process)
Solarize (was messing with curves to get the high exposure, but didn't work)
Fill layer, 100 % black (tintype substrate was a black or brown laqured iron sheet)
overlay fill 30-60 per cent

And there you have it. Very happy with face -- the eyes have that look of is it positive or negative, but unhappy with the obvious solarized look of the shirt.

Any tips?


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.