just allan

By allan

Horn Again

Malcolm's E flat tenor horn from West Barns Primary School. He brought this home today and demonstrated his impressive volume. I wish I'd got a shot of him "playing", but it was late when the children came home and I chased them off for baths and bed.

Duncan persevered with one of these for over a year, but never really enjoyed it and gave up. Now that Malcolm and his best pal Reece have inherited their horns I think they might stick it out together.

It's really great that the school has these instruments and the brass teachers' dedication is incredible. The PTA fund-raised for the instruments and every year they are handed out to primary 5 children, who can keep them for 3 years. What a great way to get into music, I wish I had the opportunity so young.

I tried a few ways of photographing the horn and settled on this long-ish exposure with low light, camera on a tripod.

Otherwise a pretty anxious and stressful day until the children came home, which made everything OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.