One Thousand Words a Day

By fbermingham

The kids are alright

Before I came to Korea, I never thought I would enjoy teaching. I still am not sure whether I like the actual 'teaching' part of it, but I have a lot of fun. Some of the kids I teach are great. The life of a student in Korea is tough.

The middle school kids I teach go to school from 9-4 and then attend up to 7 different academies, ranging from math to violin. I work in an English academy, so they're pretty tired by the time they get here. Yet, most of them still manage a smile and try to pass themselves amicably... more than could be said for me in my teens!

These two kids (one is hiding behind) are some of my favourites. They're 13 years old and are enthusiastic and lovable - although I did have to bribe them with some sweets to let me take a picture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.