surely you can see

By petergarver

I took my slr out tonight with my old 50/1.4 on it...it was enjoyable. I took a few pictures of laura that I liked, but I can never tell if pictures of her are any good or not, or at least not for weeks afterward, because they always look good to me.

Out behind the restaurant, I liked the way the light was passing through the alley around this tree...couldn't see much in the viewfinder so I just focused to infinity (couldn't scale focus because it was pitch black in the parking lot), and this is what I got at about 1/2 second at ISO 800 or so. I still love my old 50. :)

Afterward we went to the library and I did my usual browse of the photography section. I saw (with delight) a book called "Flatiron". It was exactly what I expected it to be: an obsessive collection of images of the Flatiron building, including the famous ones you know and lots you don't, commentary on the building and its significance, etc.

I love photographic projects (or in this case, curatorial projects) that show this level of single-mindedness. "How many ways have people seen this?" or "How many ways can _I_ see this?" strike me as fascinating questions that often produce great things.

One reject from my time with the 50 - a picture of nothing, just exuberance at spending some time out shooting in the dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.