mit out sound

By audioengineear

Waiting for the Snow

Gray skies all day today as we wait for the winter storm. We are actually under a blizzard warning. I think this may be the first time I've ever heard it quite like that. Usually it's severe weather advisory. Tonight we're expecting cold temps, heavy winds and snowfall from 7-12 inches. School has already been canceled for tomorrow - no surprise there. So, we will wait and see. I hope all you blippers affected by this storm make it through without trouble. Stay warm!!

Edit: I figure I might as well take some notes to see how this "weather event" plays out.

update#1 9:25pm EST
Had a few teasing flakes on the drive home around 6:30pm but now the snow has finally started to fall in earnest. The driveway is covered. Let's see what this storm's got.

update#2 11:25pm
Still snowing and the wind has picked up considerably. Drifting snow in the backyard is pretty obvious. We're calling it a night and praying we don't lose power.

update#3 4:15am (2/2)
A quick peek out the window. Winds had calmed but it still seemed to be snowing. Power still on :)

update#4 6:10am (2/2)
Looks like a break in the action. Heading outside soon to shovel out. By the look of the radar though, this ain't the end of it. the local news website lists 722 school closings. Headlines are of many business closings as well.

update#5 8:40am (2/2)
Just finished two hours of clearing snow from the driveway. It was around 6 inches deep and had drifted deeper in a couple of spots. Thank goodness I have an awesome neighbor who lent me his snow blower to finish the 2nd half of the job. When I went out it was not snowing. Guess that was like the eye of the storm. The snow has started again and has covered the first area of the drive I cleared. Time for a quick shower and off to my mother in laws to get her dug out before I go to work. Good times!!

update#6 10:30am (2/2)
Just got to work. Mom's driveway took an hour to clear. I almost got the car stuck at the end of the drive because the plows have not been down her street yet. The roads are in pretty poor shape despite extremely light traffic. Big beautiful flakes are falling now. There is no doubt in my mind that both driveways will have to be cleared again tonight. Time to get some work done. although, a bloody mary is sounding pretty good. hmmmmm....

update#7 2:15pm (2/2)
Just a few light flakes falling now. Could this be the end? Getting ready to call it a day and head home. Still have to find a blip for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.