Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Crunch!

I left for the campus this morning without a moment to spare. I think it is about a two mile distance from home. With all the stop signs and three signal lights, I need a bare minimum of 10 minutes to get there and get parked. So when I pulled onto the main highway and saw the traffic slowing, I groaned. Thankfully, we rolled right on through the accident scene. I turned left at the next street and I was at the campus.

Somebody's morning, or actually several somebodies', was not going well. It was a minor fender bender, but the rear-end of someone's car looked pretty banged-up.

Tuesday in the Writing Center has been much more busy than Monday. I've had the pleasure this afternoon of listening to the students sitting behind me discussing which instructors are the easiest, which require the least amount of work, and not to enroll in a class with any others that are not easy. Those are conversations that annoy me. Don't get me wrong . . . I like ease as much as the next person, but when a person is pursuing an education, the goal is quality, not ease. I always tell my students, "I want the doctor who earned the degree, not the one who begged the grade or looked for all the shortcuts." I feel the same about engineers, mechanics, architects, nurses, teachers, and a zillion more.

It's now time to go home. I can hardly wait.
Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.