Land of Enchantment

By Laurel

Rio Grande Snow Horse

I got up early as usual to go to the gym on the way to work. I checked my email before heading out and found a 2 hour delay because of snow. I went to exercise anyway. Forgetting to check again, I braved snowy roads to get to work. I was the only one there. UNM was closed and I didn't notice until I arrived. It was quiet, though and I could get some work done. Back home, I was drafted to drive back into town to take my mother to the eye doctor. She needs treatment for macular degeneration which can cause blindness. Four hours later heading home again, I was in the car for about 3 hours today.

It is the coldest day in decades. New Mexico is not used to temperatures below zero. We lit a fire in the wood stove and made cocoa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.