a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

Groundhogs Day

Today here in the US and in Canada, is Groundhogs Day.

Punxsutawney Phil (the official groundhog) comes out of his burrow on Gobbler's Knob - in front of thousands of followers from all over the world - to predict the weather for the rest of winter on February 2nd each year.

It has been celebrated in Punxsutawny, Pennsylvania since 1886. According to legend, if Punxsutawney Phil sees his shadow, there will be six more weeks of winter weather. If he does not see his shadow, there will be an early spring.

If you are interested in seeing the photo of Phil from today, click here!

So....the good news is, he did not see his shadow today, therefore, we should see an early spring. However, I'm not really sure if this is scientific enough for me to believe, but at this point, with all of the horrible snow, sleet, ice and cold we've been having, I will believe anything if it will help! :)

Mrs. Cardinal here in this photo is trying her hardest to believe too!

thank you all who wished me well yesterday for my spinal procedure. It was quick, only about 10 minutes, and other than some pressure while the doctor was doing it, I couldn't feel a thing. Although I have to admit, it was a little strange when he told me I may feel some 'crunching' while he pushed the needle through my spine!
I was a bit sore all afternoon and last night, but am feeling a bit better today. Only time will tell if it will relieve the pain and pressure on the nerves...I should be able to tell within a week or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.