RunningBackwards

By Runningbackwards

Narcissus

Okay, the Daffodil but these are a mini variant that Mrs Running Backwards purchased today down on Gloucester Road, according to various sources one of England's last remaining traditional shopping streets.

Yes, well that as maybe.

Wikipedia saves me again and tells me that Daffodil comes from the word Asphodel, that florists commonly suffer from 'Daffodil itch' and that one of the Shuttle craft on Alien was called Narcissus.

Not to mention it being the National Flower of Wales (didn't need Wikipedia for that one) and the county flower of Gloucestershire (there you go).

Oh, and they also contain the poison lycorine within the bulbs which can be highly poisonous. On that cheerful note...

Since blipping my running shoes the day before yesterday I have found it a bit hard to motivate myself to run. Managed a short run into work yesterday but awarded myself a day off today due to the wrong sort of rain (Health and Safety precaution of course).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.