Midcentury Lass

By midcenturylass

Steel Rigg, Hadrian's Wall, Northumberland

I'm lucky in my job that I get out of my office and out and about. Usually, its in industrial parts of Tyneside, but today, I spent my day out near Hadrian's Wall in the Tyne Valley, Northumberland.

I decided to have my lunch at midday on the Wall, looking over at this view. It was extraordinarily windy, so this might not be the most focused photo ever, but, it was so beautiful, I had to blip it. You can't quite tell from this photo that the escarpment is really very high with a sheer drop to one side, but let me tell you, it really is.

Today was a lovely winters day, full of muted colours and crisp sunlight. Oh, and those blustery winds!

The Wall snakes up and over the side of the escarpment, amazing to think of the Romans building it. To either side are lovely, expansive views of the valley. And if you ever saw the Kevin Costner Robin Hood film, the 'famous' lone Sycamore tree is very close to here (as a Nottinghamshire lass, the poor geography of that film makes me laugh!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.