middleman

By middleman

Limey

Slow day compounded by the most diabolical weather out there when I had my real photographic window of opportunity. Even when seemingly under cover the rain and wind was blasting my face whichever way I turned. I'm convinced that this new camera is the cause of it and that somehow I've jinxed things - so apologies all round for the wind and rain, it's all my fault, no, really....

Back in time to San Francisco, 1997. I'd been to a bookstore on Market Street one lunchtime to see crime writer James Ellroy do a reading. It was around the time that LA Confidential was out in the cinemas and he was becoming quite famous. I hung around and after quite a while plucked up the courage (he was still known as the 'Demon Dog Of American Literature' at the time after all) to go up to him and ask him if I could take a Polaroid and then get it signed whist it was developing. (I'll just add that I was on a round-the-world trip at the time and even though I had only one medium-sized rucksack I still found room for my trusty Polaroid 600 and a few packs of film, some things never change...). With the words '"Please do. Go ahead, Limey" Ellroy posed and then dutifully signed, and I don't know whether he did it on purpose just to be 'different' or somehow 'Ellroyesque', but he signed it upside down. Thanks, James - your upside-down signed Polaroid has been on my kitchen notice board for years now.

And, on this slow day of foul weather and Californian reminisces I've been listening mostly to Pantha Du Prince, have linked to him before but it's really rather good, go on, have a different track this time, on me.

[Wee technical note: 50mm f1.8 Nikon Lens Series E means manual mode only today]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.