Clare's Symi

By claresymi

Not a Clue!

Grey skies, winds gusting to force 7 or 8 and lots and lots of rain. What a hideous day and a total contrast to yesterday.

This all means that I'm afraid I've resorted to that old favourite theme of mine 'door furniture'. As the title says, I don't have a clue about this. The house has a double entrance door, which is usual in Symi and there is one of these heads on each side. I haven't seen anything quite them on any other buildings. They don't appear to serve any function, although I find them a little scary so maybe they are there to frighten away unwanted visitors! From the headgear I would hazard a guess that they are Egyptian in design but I'm probably completely wrong. Unfortunately, the house is empty so I couldn't knock on the door and see if anyone could give me any information. I have a few friends on Facebook, who are far more knowledgeable than me about all things Symi related, so maybe one of them knows something about the house and its history - I hope so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.