chrisugden

By chrisugden

Japanese packaging

I love Japanese packaging. I think what I like most is the unknown text. The abstract.

When I visited Japan in the early 1990s, I successfully stole an advertising poster from a tube train in Tokyo. It depicted a small crying child, a monkey and some text. I had it displayed for a long time back home. I loved it.
Years later when I came to work in this lab, my Japanese lab mates finally translated the text on the stolen poster. It was advertising some mundane business copying service of some kind. The mystery had gone. I still have it somewhere. I should get it out and put it up somewhere. Blip it.

As there are a few Japanese who work in the lab, we often have Japanese snacks and that is what this packaging is from. Chilli flavoured rice crackers and peanuts. Would go exceptionally well with a pint of cold beer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.