Sport or a Game...

I sometimes have this discussion with TFP Senior. It comes up every few months and revolves around golf's status as either a game or a sport.

Now there's a few things that are televised as 'sport' which I think are way off the mark. I think my definition's main point and I believe it a standard definition is that a sport should involve a physical activity.

Now this is a bit of a fuzzy line and I've found that par-takers in some of these televised sports are very protective of the status of their chosen activity as a sport.

A few of the things I think that are masquerading in the sport category are things like snooker, golf, darts, bowls. These, I think are quite categorically games.

I think I have an exclusion definition for sport in that if you don't sweat, it ain't a sport. TFP Senior's is a very inclusive definition in that it's a sport if you can score goals, be they balls in hole or back of net.

All that said, discussions on this at work introduced a some extra categories outside of the straight sport or game. We thought figured that the category of activity could help this sorting and I still really don't know what to do about motor sports such as F1 or rallying. I don't think they're sports but I'm not sure where to categorise them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.